Official: Svitolina and Yastremsky refused to play for Ukraine

Официально: Свитолина и Ястремская отказались играть за Украину

The first racket of Ukraine Elina Svitolina, and the third racket of our country Dayana Yastremsky, refused to play for Ukraine in the matches of the Federation Cup in the Polish Zielona Gora.

Despite the previously reached between the parties prior arrangement, tennis player through his agent, Stephen Gurov, put forward the new financial conditions.

“I hope the changing attitudes of Ukrainian tennis players to play for the national team of Ukraine. We believe that participation in matches for the national team commands of their homeland must first of all be based on patriotism, selflessness and respect for the sport of honour of Ukraine”, – reads the statement of the press service of the Federal customs administration, reports the observer.

All the leading players will receive prizes from the Ukrainian tennis Federation (Federal office) for participation in the Davis Cup and the Federation Cup. The amount of this remuneration is known to the players before the start of each season based on their current rating. Also the size of this fee is determined by the possibilities of the budget of the Federation.

At the moment the female national team of Ukraine the following: Lesya Tsurenko, Ekaterina Kozlova, Martha Kostiuk and Nadezhda Kichenok.